Sonic Interaction Workshop

June 26, 2008

Participant: Sebastian Stober

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: — mobilesound @ 4:20 pm

Sebastian Stober

I am one of the organizers of the LSAS (Learning Semantics of Audio Signals) workshop that will be tomorrow at IRCAM. I’ll stay in Paris till Wednesday to have a look around at the ICAD. Browsing their website, I just found the description of your workshop. I find your topic very interesting and would like to participate if that’s still somehow possible.

About myself:
I’m PhD student from the University of Magdeburg, Germany. I studied computer science with a minor in mathematics from 2000 till 2005. My main focus of study was on machine learning and intelligent systems as I found (and still find) this a thrilling topic with lots of challenges. Later, when the Information Retrieval Group was established (now it’s called “Data & Knowledge Engineering Group”), I digged more into general information retrieval and adaptive systems and finally, after my diploma, joined the group as researcher. Having played drums for about 10 years in several bands and being a music enthusiast, I decided to do my PhD in the highly interdisciplinary and fascinating field of music information retrieval. My goal is to find ways to ease access to music collections by user adaptation. In this context, an intuitive user interface is highly important and as dealing with music means having a lot of audio data “to be displayed” in some way, incorporating (direct) sonification suggests itself.
So far, I have no experiences in this field and I hope to get some ideas and “pointers” from the ICAD conference – and hopefully from your workshop, too.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

